Uproar before cabinet expansion in Karnataka! Supporters of Congress MLA picket to make minister

Karnataka Cabinet Expansion: Even though the names of the ministers have been decided by the Congress high command regarding the cabinet expansion of the Siddaramaiah government in Karnataka. Still, the resentment that has arisen among many Congress MLAs for not being made a minister does not seem to end. Its hallmark was seen before the swearing-in ceremony. When supporters of Congress leader Rudrappa Lamani staged a protest outside the party office in Karnataka.

Hundreds of his supporters are protesting outside the Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee office on Saturday (May 27) demanding that Congress leader Rudrappa Lamani be made a minister. Rudrappa Lamani has won the Karnataka Elections 2023 from Haveri Assembly Constituency. His supporters are adamant on demanding a ministerial berth for Lamani.

What do the supporters say?
The supporters of the Congress MLA say that Rudrappa Lamani is a leader of the Banjara community and his name was in the list of ministers till last night. Today his name has been removed from the list. Supporters say that if our leader is not given a ministerial post then we will protest against it because we had given 75 percent of our vote to the Congress in the elections.

He said that there must be at least one minister from our community. Significantly, Siddaramaiah has already approved the names of the ministers regarding the expansion of the government’s cabinet. On Saturday, 24 leaders will take oath as ministers. Among these MLAs, senior Congress leaders HK Patil, Krishna Byre Gowda, Ishwar Khandre and Dinesh Gundurao will take oath of office and secrecy as ministers. At the same time, Lakshmi Hebbalkar will take oath as the only woman minister in the cabinet.  

When will be the swearing-in ceremony?
The swearing-in ceremony will be held at Raj Bhavan on Saturday around 12 noon. Seeing the list of names of the ministers, it becomes clear that the Congress High Command has prepared this list keeping in mind the power equation, districts and caste equations in the state. In this list, along with the names of the MLAs for the post of ministers, their caste has also been written. Like Rahim Khan comes from Muslim minority community and B Nagendra comes from Scheduled Tribe.

Leave a Comment

Scroll to Top