Karnataka Cabinet Expansion: Karnataka Deputy CM DK Shivakumar in Delhi again, what is the reason?

Karnataka Cabinet Expansion: The cabinet of Karnataka government may expand. State Chief Minister Siddaramaiah and Deputy Chief Minister DK Shivakumar are coming to Delhi on Wednesday (May 24). Both the leaders can meet the top leadership of the Congress to discuss cabinet expansion and allocation of portfolios to the existing ministers.   

According to the official schedule of Chief Minister Siddaramaiah, the CM will leave for Delhi by a special plane at 6.30 pm and will stay in Delhi for the night. Whereas, as per Shivakumar’s tour schedule, the Deputy CM will leave from Bengaluru by an afternoon flight and reach Delhi by evening.

Will meet Congress President Mallikarjun Kharge

As per the schedule of the Chief Minister and Deputy CM, both will meet Congress President Mallikarjun Kharge and other senior party leaders on Thursday (May 25). However, it is not known when both the leaders will return to Karnataka. Let us inform that on May 20, Siddaramaiah was sworn in as Chief Minister and DK Shivakumar as Deputy Chief Minister. At the same time, eight MLAs took oath as ministers. Ministers in Karnataka have not yet been allocated portfolios since taking oath.

There were allegedly differences?

Congress sources told news agency PTI that the party high command had cleared the first list of eight ministers in Delhi last week ahead of the swearing-in ceremony. Whereas, there was an earlier plan to induct a large number of MLAs in the cabinet as there were reportedly differences between Siddaramaiah and Shivakumar over some names during discussion. 

Indeed, allocation of portfolios to new ministers in the state and expansion of the cabinet with the right combination is a challenging task before CM Siddaramaiah as it involves balancing the representatives of all communities, regions, factions and the old and new generation of legislators. Will happen. 34 ministers can be inducted in the Karnataka cabinet. 

Let us tell you that before the swearing-in, both the leaders had met the party high command twice in Delhi, in which the names of the Chief Minister and the Council of Ministers were approved in the second meeting.  

Read also: New Parliament Inauguration: 19 parties including Congress, TMC, AAP and NCP will stay away from the inauguration of the new Parliament, what has the government said now?

Leave a Comment

Scroll to Top