Who all are in the ‘One Nation, One Election’ committee, know about them

One Nation One Election Committee Members Profile: The Central Government on Saturday (September 2) constituted an 8-member committee to investigate ‘One Nation, One Election’. Former President Ram Nath Kovind was appointed as the chairman of the committee. Law Minister Arjun Ram Meghwal is a special invitee. 

Union Home Minister Amit Shah, Congress MP Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury, former Rajya Sabha LOP Ghulam Nabi Azad, former Finance Commission Chairman NK Singh, former Lok Sabha Secretary General Subhash C Kashyap, senior advocate Harish Salve and former CVC Sanjay Kothari as members of the committee. appointed as. Tell you about all the members of the committee.

Ram Nath Kovind is the chairman of the committee 

Ram Nath Kovind (77) has been the President of the country from 2017 to 2022. He was the first person from Uttar Pradesh to reach the post of President. He served as the Governor of Bihar from 2015 to 2017. Also, he was a member of Rajya Sabha from 1994 to 2006. Before joining politics, he was a lawyer for 16 years and practiced in Delhi High Court and Supreme Court till 1993. 

Union Home Minister Amit Shah

Senior BJP leader Amit Shah (58) is the Union Home Minister. Prior to this, he has also been the President of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Home Minister of Gujarat. He was elected Member of Parliament from the Gandhi Nagar seat of Gujarat in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections.

Prior to this he was a member of the Rajya Sabha. After being made the Home Minister in the second term of the Modi government, he took a big decision to remove Article 370 from Jammu and Kashmir. He has also served as the President of the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) since 2014.

Congress MP Adhir Ranjan Chowdhary

Adhir Ranjan Chowdhary (67) is the leader of the Congress in the Lok Sabha. They Lok Sabha elections, he had won from Berhampur seat in West Bengal. He is also the current President of the West Bengal Pradesh Congress Committee.

Adhir Ranjan Chowdhary has been in the Congress party for a long time. In 2012, he was inducted as the Minister of State for Railways in the ministry of former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh. In June 2019, he was elected as the leader of the Congress in the Lok Sabha.

Former CM of Jammu and Kashmir Ghulam Nabi Azad

Ghulam Nabi Azad (74) is the former Chief Minister of Jammu and Kashmir. He has been the Leader of the Opposition in the Rajya Sabha between 2014 and 2021. He served as the Chief Minister of Jammu and Kashmir from 2005 to 2008. He has been a minister in the Manmohan Singh government.

Azad had resigned from the Congress in August 2022. After this, he formed his own party in the name of Democratic Progressive Azad Party. He was awarded the Padma Bhushan, India’s third highest civilian award, in 2022.

Former Finance Commission Chairman NK Singh

Nand Kishore Singh (82) is a politician, economist and former IAS officer. He has been a member of Rajya Sabha (2008-2014). In 2014, leaving the Janata Dal (United), NK Singh joined the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). On 27 November 2017, the Modi government appointed him as the chairman of the Fifteenth Finance Commission of India. 

Former Secretary General of Lok Sabha Subhash C Kashyap

Subhash Kashyap is the former Secretary General of the Lok Sabha. He worked on this post from 1984 to 1990. He was also a member of the National Commission to Review the Working of the Constitution and Chairman of its Drafting and Editorial Committee. He has also received the Padma Bhushan award in the field of public affairs.  

Sr. Advocate Harish Salve

Harish Salve (68) is a senior advocate practicing in the Supreme Court. He served as the Solicitor General of India from 1999 to 2002. He also fought the case of Kulbhushan Jadhav in the International Court of Justice (ICJ). In January 2020 she was appointed as Queen’s Counsel to the courts of England and Wales.

Former CVC Sanjay Kothari

Sanjay Kothari is an IAS officer of 1978 Haryana cadre. He has also been the Chief Vigilance Commissioner. Also in November 2016, he was appointed as the head of the government-head of the Public Enterprises Selection Board (PESB). 

What did the Center say in the notification?

The central government has said in the notification that The high-level committee constituted to examine the possibility of holding simultaneous elections will start work immediately and give recommendations at the earliest. This committee, formed by the government to hold simultaneous elections, will study whether the amendment of the constitution will require the approval of the states. 

Read also- 

Should INDIA announce PM candidate, which face against Modi? Big revelations in the survey

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top