Republic Day 2023: Why doesn’t the Prime Minister hoist the tricolor on 26 January? know the reason

Happy Republic Day 2023: Have you ever had a question that when the Prime Minister hoists the flag from the Red Fort on August 15, then that flag will be hoisted on Republic Day on January 26. Why don’t you hoist it? Why does the President hoist the flag on this day instead of the PM? If you do not know about this, then let us tell you what is the reason behind it. 

India is going to celebrate its 74th Republic Day this time. This day commemorates the coming into force of the Constitution of India, which took place on 26 January 1950. With the 1950 constitution, the country officially became known as the Republic of India. On this day a huge parade is held in the capital Delhi and the constitutional head hoists the President’s flag. 

Why doesn’t the Prime Minister hoist the tricolor 

When our country got independence on 15 August 1947, then due to lack of constitution, the head of India was the Prime Minister. On this day Prime Minister Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru hoisted the flag for the first time from the Red Fort. Since then, on August 15, the Prime Minister always hoists the flag from the Red Fort. At the same time, Dr. Rajendra Prasad had become the President on 26 January 1950 and the President is considered the first citizen of the country. This is the reason that since then till now the President hoists the tricolor on 26 January. 

Difference between flag hoisting on 26 January and 15 August

In India, the tricolor is hoisted on these two special days, 26 January and 15 August. We told you why the Prime Minister does not hoist the tricolor on 26 January. Now let us understand what is the difference between hoisting the flag on Independence Day and Republic Day. On the occasion of Independence Day, the flag is pulled from the bottom by a rope and taken up, then unfurled and hoisted. This is called flag hoisting. On the other hand, on the day of Republic Day, the flag remains tied above, which is unfurled and hoisted. In the constitution it is called Flag Unfurling. 

Read also: 

Who are those 21 heroes, after whom the islands of Andaman are named, read the complete list

Scroll to Top